HALAL ARCHIVES

List of Halal / Haraam/ Mushbooh Food Ingredients

Author
kislam1
Date
2015-02-16 12:14
Views
2182
The list of food ingredients are divided into HALAL, HARAAM and MUSHBOOH based on Islamic dietary requirements.

HALAL:

1. Grain and Plant based Ingredients

2. Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients


3. Dairy Ingredients (made with chemical, Halal or kosher enzyme, cultures and culture media) with kosher symbol on the food packages only:
Acid Casein, Butter fat Lipolyzed, Buttermilk Solids, Caseinates (Sodium & Calcium), Rennet Casein, Cheese Powder, Cream, Cultured Milk, Cultured Cream Lipolyzed, Dried Milk, Lactose, Nonfat Dry milk, Sour Cream Solids (without gelatin), Reduced Mineral Whey, Whey, Whey Protein Concentrate.


4. Ingredients made from Plant or Vegetable Fat with kosher symbol on food package only:


5. Ingredients from Egg and Fish:
Albumin, Eggs, Egg White, Egg Yolks, Gelatin (from fish only), Lecithin (from eggs but very expensive to produce now a days).


6. Halal Vitamins used in Food products:
Vitamin A as Retinol (from eggs, milk & plant source):
For the dairy industry it is made from by reacting Calcium Carbonate with
water then esterified with Palmitic Acid (from plant fat only) and used to fortify Milk.

Vitamin B1: As Thiamine (synthetic and from eggs)

Vitamin B2: As Riboflavin (from leafy vegetables, eggs and milk)

Vitamin B5: As Pantotherric Acid (from eggs)

Vitamin B6: As Pyridoxine (from eggs)

Vitamin B12: As Cyanocobalamin (from fish and milk)

Vitamin C: As Ascorbic Acid (from plant or synthetic)

Vitamin D as Calciferol:

For the dairy industry it is made from sheep's Lanolin (wool) for fortifying the milk.

Vitamin E: As Tocopherol (from vegetable, eggs and milk)

Vitamin K: (from vegetable source)


HARAAM:


1. Haraam Ingredients from Alcoholic Fermentation:

Alcohol in dry form is used as ingredient, Alcohol as solvent in flavor, extracting ingredients for color, spices, Bear, Bear Flavor, Bear Batters, Fermented Cider, Hard Cider, Rum, Torula Yeast grown on liquor, Soya Sauce (Naturally brewed with wheat and soy as mentioned in ingredient list with 1-2% alcohol), Sherry Wine, Vanilla Extract, Wine, Wine vinegar.

2. Haraam Ingredients from Human Body:
L - Cysteine (from Human Hairs).

3. Haraam Ingredients from Pig:
Bacon, Ham, Gelatin, Enzymes (such as Rennin, Pepsin), Marshmallow containing pork gelatin, Pork, Bacon bits.

4. Ingredients from pig may be mixed with grain & plant based ingredients:
Beta-Carotene (pork gelatin may be used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene), Cheese & Dairy Cultures (if the media for growing cultures contains pork fat), Enzyme Modified Soya Lecithin (pork enzymes), Tofu (if the coagulant is from Haraam source). 

5. Mineral, Chemical and Synthetic Ingredients mixed with pork by-products:
Artificial Flavors (made from pork by-products), BHA & BHT (if the carrier from pork by-products).

6. Dairy Ingredients made from pork enzymes or Cultures grows on pork fat:
Butter fat Lipolyzed, Buttermilk Solids, Caseinates (Sodium & Calcium), Rennet Casein, Cheese Powder, Cultured Cream Lipolyzed, Cultured Milk, Lactose, Sour Cream Solids (also with pork gelatin), Reduced Mineral Whey, Rennet, Whey, Whey Protein Concentrate.

7. Ingredients made from Pig Fat:
Calcium Stearate, Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Diglyceride, Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides, Glycerin, Glycerol Ester, Glycerol Monostearate, Hydroxylated Lecithin, Lard, Margarine, Mono- and Diglycerides, Monoglyceride, Natural Flavors (if any ingredient from pork fat), Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids, Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Monostearate, Polysorbate 60, Polysorbate 65, Polysorbate 80, Propylene
Glycol Monostearate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (if Lauric acid obtained from pig fat), Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Softener, Sorbitan Monostearate, Tocopherol.

8. Vitamins from pig's liver & other pig parts:
Vitamin A, Vitamin B 5, Vitamin B 6, Vitamin B 12, Vitamin E, Vitamin


MUSHBOOH:


Yeast Extract, Autolyzed Yeast from brewer's yeast, Shellac.
(The Halal status of Cochineal/Carmine color & Shellac is under discussion stage).

http://special.worldofislam.info/Food/list.html